AutoNotification Activating notifications with no buttons

Discussion in 'AutoApps' started by scottishwildcat, Feb 2, 2020.

1. scottishwildcat

scottishwildcat New Member

I'm a Tasker noob, but have followed a couple of tutorials on this specifically and still can't get it to work.

I'm trying to automate tapping on the "There's someone at your door" notification from the Ring app. The notification has no buttons, so normally you have to tap it, which opens the app to show the video stream. (Which is a terrible design for a doorbell app, but whatever.)

I've set up an AutoNotification Intercept event, and then in the task it fires I'm trying to use AutoNotification Actions to simulate the tap. The Configuration page for AutoNotification Actions has a Button Text Filter, which says "if this is not specified, the notification itself of the matching notification will be pressed".

Sounds like exactly what I want, but when I use that, it just fails with "could't find an action to perform".

I can get all this to work fine with the Motion notification from the doorbell, which has two buttons (View and Snooze) -- AutoNotification Actions will happily tap the View button for me. What do I need to do to get this to work when there are no buttons?

2. joaomgcd

joaomgcd Administrator Staff Member

You have to use the %antouchaction variable in that case :)

3. scottishwildcat

Thanks... I've tried a tutorial that did that too, but it was a slightly different use case and I couldn't get it to work for me. Can you point me at a simple example?

4. nirmalts

nirmalts New Member

What a coincidence. I've been using Ring App with Auto Notification and it has always worked until Ring did an update last week (3.22.1). Since then it cannot find the notification to click, although the profile gets activated. I downloaded an APK of the previous version and it works fine.

Gesendet von meinem ONEPLUS A6013 mit Tapatalk

scottishwildcat likes this.
  5. scottishwildcat