AutoCast AutoCast Voice on Google Home

Discussion in 'AutoApps' started by sevin7, Aug 9, 2019.

1. sevin7

sevin7 New Member

I have Wyze contact sensors on my doors and google home minis all around my house and a google nest hub in my kitchen. My goal is to have my google home speakers broadcast 'xxx door opened' (where 'xxx' is the name of a door) when a door is opened. This is accomplished by using tasker to parse the android notification from Wyze which says "xxx door opened" and then use AutoCast to tell a group of google home speakers to say something. So far I've got tasker setup to play a sound on my phone when a Wyze notification is received (I'm new to tasker). I'm now trying the next step which is to get AutoCast to make my google home speakers say something. I've tried every possible configuration in AutoCast (which I had to purchase just to try because the free trial thing flat out wouldn't work) to try and get AutoCast to say something on my google homes and so far all it will do is occasionally make a short alert type sound (not exactly sure how to describe it) and it does not do it consistently. It will also show a AutoCast screen on my google nest hub, but I'm not concerned about seeing anything, I just want to get AutoCast to speak. I'm trying to use the 'Voice' part of AutoCast but it is not working at all. Here is a screenshot of my configuration:

https://photos.app.goo.gl/bFXQLNV5RyQwJa3f6

Please tell me what I'm doing wrong.

2. sevin7

sevin7 New Member

Following this guide I managed to get my speakers to play an mp3 file and works reliably. BTW I should mention I'm using an old phone that is always on and at home on the same wifi network as the google home devices (I'm pretty sure thats a requirement for this). The configuration below works:

https://photos.app.goo.gl/nb1AV6EW5D4kudLA6

However, it would be nice if the voice part worked so I don't have to pre-record mp3 files for each door name.