I currently have Join Voice Control disabled. However, every time I get a new notification, the little microphone indicating Join Voice Control is active reappears in the menu bar. The icon then disappears when I click the Join extension's icon in Chrome. My concern is that somehow Voice control is being surreptitiously reenabled in the background, at least temporarily. I know I remember seeing this brought up on the G+ community a while back, but I can't find that post now. I'm just posting here to report that this problem still exists.